The education system in Tynedale is a three-tier system, comprising first, middle, and high schools. In some rural area however, a two tier system may operate with primary schools and high schools.

In the tables below, the catchment area refers to the area in which schools typically accept pupils. For more detail on catchment areas, Northumberland County Council have a map, which can be accessed here.

Note: Some parts of this page are still under construction.

First Schools (includes Primary Schools)

School Location Catchment Area
Acomb First School Acomb Acomb
Adderlane Academy West Wylam Low Prudhoe and West Wylam
Allendale Primary School Allendale Allendale
Beaufront First School Sandhoe, Hexham
Broomhaugh C of E First School Riding Mill Riding Mill
Broomley First School Stocksfield Stocksfield
Chollerton C of E Vol Aided First School Chollerton Chollerton
Corbridge C of E Aided First School Corbridge Corbridge
Greenhaugh Primary School Greenhaugh, Hexham Greenhaugh
Hexham First School Hexham
Humshaugh C of E Aided First School Humshaugh, Hexham Humshaugh
Mickley First School Mickley Mickley
Ovingham First School Ovingham Bywell, Ovingham, Ovington
Wylam First School Wylam Wylam

Middle Schools

School Location Catchment Area
Corbridge Middle School Corbridge Corbridge
Hexham Middle School Hexham Hexham
Highfield Middle School Prudhoe Prudhoe
Ovingham Middle School Ovingham Bywell, Mickley, Ovingham, Ovington, Stocksfield, Wylam
St Joseph’s RC Voluntary Aided Middle School Hexham

High Schools

School Location Catchment Area
Prudhoe Community High School Prudhoe Bywell, Mickley, Ovingham, Ovington, Prudhoe, Stocksfield, Wylam
Queen Elizabeth High School Hexham Allendale, Corbridge, Hexham, Riding Mill